Rising Above

Damaged Child – Lisa’s Story
Posted by R.I.S.E. on May 3, 2013 in Education, Empowerment, Relationships, Voice, Your Stories | 0 comments

I am almost 50 and am just recently learning how to deal with my abuse and how to be a survivor I was abused by my brother at a young age. He is 10 years older than me so my parents would let him babysit me. I’m not really sure of the time frame but I do know that it was before I was 10. We (he) did get caught by my mother and that was what put an end to it. To the best of my knowledge he never received any help, and I know that I didn’t. It was never even discussed. My parents died when I was 14/15, so I never had the chance to learn anything about it after I began acknowledging it.

I had a hard time, did some bad things; drugs, drinking, and subsequently was disowned by the rest of my surviving family. That includes my brother, his wife, my aunt and uncle who finished “raising” me, and my grandmother. My brother went on to sexually abuse his daughter and to behave in all kinds of deviant sexual behavior. Luckily she did get help and now, at 34, is much better adjusted than myself.

My point in my story is that it is of the utmost importance to talk and educate about this. It should not be a silent secret. So much potential damage to the child my be avoided if help is sought quickly. Lawmakers need to address this issue and change laws. Don’t be afraid to speak out.

About Avictimnomore

Lost soul, trying to find myself. Trying to learn to be a survivor of child sexual abuse, the death of my parents when I was a teen, and being disowned by my remaining family.
This entry was posted in adoption, adult survivor of child abuse, awareness, child abuse, death, depression and anxiety, depression awareness, incest, love, parent death, sexual abuse, suicide, suicide prevention, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rising Above

  1. Sweetie, there are many of us here and you are doing the right thing by addressing and talking about your issues….Let us help you, I had so many people helping me in the beginning. It does get easier once you know you are surrounded in love by people who want you free of the trauma you endured….Putting out the welcome mat for you and leaving the porch light on for whatever you need….

Leave a Reply

