Stages of Grief

The last couple of weeks in group we have been talking about stages of grief. So far I’ve figured out that I am kind of stuck in anger.

I kind of feel like I’m going backwards. I used to be so upset, crying a lot. Now I’m just depressed and kind of oblivious to some emotions. The only time I have cried in a few years was when I had a couple of anxiety attacks. Medication is controlling that. Oh, and when my dog died.

I almost feel numb and regretfully almost uncaring. Other people in group are moved, saddened, or seem to experience some kind of emotions while there. Not me. I just sit.

It seems I don’t really know what to think about the things that are brought up. Isn’t that the point? To discuss things to make us feel? To help us become enlightened about our experiences? To learn?

I’m certainly not in denial. I know what happened, although I wonder if there are any more repressed memories.

Hopefully I will figure something out one of these days.

About Avictimnomore

Lost soul, trying to find myself. Trying to learn to be a survivor of child sexual abuse, the death of my parents when I was a teen, and being disowned by my remaining family.
This entry was posted in adoption, adult survivor of child abuse, awareness, child abuse, death, depression and anxiety, depression awareness, incest, love, parent death, sexual abuse, suicide, suicide prevention, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stages of Grief

  1. Miss Lou says:

    All of us experience things differently. Sounds like you are also emotionally exhausted. Stop comparing your regular experiences with everyone else’s highlights reel. There is no set way to grieve, honestly. There may be studies and reports and papers, though we are so complicated and unique no standard can fit everyone!

Leave a Reply

