Do you feel completely alone and misunderstood?

Mental Health Advocate Glenn Close with Heathe...

Mental Health Advocate Glenn Close with Heather Stuart (Photo credit: queensu)

Mental Health Awareness Ribbon

Mental Health Awareness Ribbon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes!!

I had felt that way for most of my life.  Only now as a result of finally seeking therapy, do I feel as thought I am not the only one with these feelings and thoughts.

The greatest thing I can recommend to someone who feels alone, depressed, suicidal, misunderstood, etc., is to please, go get help,  Seek some kind of treatment.  Many communities have mental health treatment available. Mine did, and it took me a long time to find out about it.  I thought that the Manatee Glens in my community was only for those who needed to be hospitalized due to their mental illness or addiction.  I did not know about their outpatient services.

I know we certainly don’t want to feel or have others think that we are going out of our minds.  It is difficult to admit that you cannot handle it on your own, that you need help.

Seek the help that you want and need.  Even if your community doesn’t have a facility itself, there is a lot of help online and numbers that you can call.  No one will judge you, and you can finally feel not so ALONE anymore.

mckarlie

I think one of the biggest challenges with having a mental illness is that we keep so much locked away. We worry that if we share what’s inside people will ostracize us and quite often, it’s true. I think all of us have had an experience where we’ve had a friend tell us ‘you can tell me anything’ and when we give them a glimpse of what’s going on underneath, they pull away or it overwhelms them.

The fact of it is, if you haven’t been through similar experiences with mental illness, it does freak people out. It does overwhelm people, and it’s not their fault, people want to be good friends and want to know us well because that’s how people bond, but when we have an experience where we put ourselves out there and share with someone who hasn’t necessarily experienced something similar, and it ends up pushing…

View original post 834 more words

About Avictimnomore

Lost soul, trying to find myself. Trying to learn to be a survivor of child sexual abuse, the death of my parents when I was a teen, and being disowned by my remaining family.
This entry was posted in adoption, adult survivor of child abuse, awareness, child abuse, death, depression and anxiety, depression awareness, incest, love, parent death, sexual abuse, suicide, suicide prevention, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

